Duchess Bake Shop, Edmonton

Yesterday afternoon, when I saw this post on Chowhound and saw Crazy White Girl With a Kitchen’s post and photos, I knew I HAD to stop by the Duchess Bake Shop after work. It is a stylish little place and makes a welcome addition to the shops and restaurants on 124th Street. (For those who are address-challenged and need visual landmarks to find their way around, the bakery is across the street from Koutouki Taverna.)

Look at these pretties! Can you guess what I picked up?

Duchess Bake Shop goodies

Duchess Bake Shop goodies

Oh yeah baby. Macarons and madeleines! Say goodbye to the diet (at least for the day). Hellooooo yummy sugar.

Duchess Bake Shop - macarons and madeleines

Duchess Bake Shop - macarons and madeleines

The madeleines I chose were lavender flavoured. I quite liked the floral flavour of the little sponge cake. I think I would have preferred them to be a tiny bit less dense, but I gave the other one to someone else to try and that person commented that the madeleine was very light tasting. At the bakery they told me the lavender came from Salt Spring Island.

They had three flavours of macarons available so I had to try them all. A lemon (which was fabulously lemony), a pistachio (excellent but maybe a touch too sweet for my preference), and a lavender (just a very faint floral taste, mostly tasted of vanilla). I ate one each, and gave the remainder to the aforementioned other person, who promptly scarfed one like a glutton instead of slowly enjoying it. Yeah, that person got a dirty look from me. Humph.

I was so excited about seeing the macarons that I forgot to ask them what kinds of cakes were in the case. Covered in egg whites with toasty peaks, they looked like stylized cake-shaped baked Alaskas. If anyone knows what they are, please let me know.

They’ve been open for less than a week, so I was told that their hours weren’t absolutely set yet. However on their front door it says that they’re open Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

I am so fucking ecstatic that I can buy macarons in Edmonton now! Pardon my français. I’m so happy that I had to write this up right away instead of working on other delayed blog posts. I was starting to wonder if I would have to figure out how to make these things myself… or book another trip to Vegas so that I could raid the Bouchon Bakery. Too bad this means I have to do more exercise to work off all the calories… but I think they’re worth the pain for the yummy pleasure. And honestly, as long as you only eat one or two the calories aren’t too bad.

And while I was writing this I noticed that Only Here for the Food posted about the bakery as well. Looks like word is getting around fast.

Duchess Bake Shop
10720-124 Street, Edmonton
www.duchessbakeshop.com

Duchess Bake Shop on Urbanspoon

17 thoughts on “Duchess Bake Shop, Edmonton

  1. Hmmmm… glad to hear that more interesting shops are opening up on 124 st. I have to admit, i’ve never had a macaroon. must stop by, especailly with your excitement over them 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout out. Also, you are like my clone or something. I was just plotting my next trip to L.V. specifically to get macarons, and I also put off delayed posts just to gush over Duchess.

    I’m so happy this week, I could die. (That means, I too, am fucking ecstatic.)

  3. Taiphun says:

    Picked up the Dutchess for Mom and Dad’s birthday. Everyone loved it, especially the lightness of the cake and cream.

    They sold out of croissants, but did have some lemon macarons and shortbread left. They just put some tarts into the oven so we didn’t get to sample those.

    Will try to get there early next time for their croissants.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I think their macarons are equivlent to the ones sold in Costco! So actually you can buy them there too. But I say, “Nice Try” to The Duchess bake shop for their attempt. At least there are some bakeries out there that aspire to bring great deserts.

    But on a more positive note their Key lime pie is AMAZING!

    Their pain au chocolat and Croissants are buttery flakey too similiar to those in Paris!

  5. Ehm, well. How to say this.
    I LOVE COSTCO.

    But their Macarons are sub par, frozen from France. Not even in the same universe as Duchess or here in Calgary, Yann’s.

    Did I say, I LOVE COSTCO?

Leave a comment